Skip to content
April 5, 2011 / Brittany Hendrick

As president of the Zero Fun Club, I present: The 30-Day Song Challenge in one day

Leave it to me to subvert the Facebook rules. “Rules.” Honestly, I lose track of this when I have twenty different friends posting their Day 4, Day 9, Day 13, Day 27, etc. on different days from each other. So I thought, why not just put all of my songs into one post. And it took fewer than 30 days.  😉

Most of these videos work, if you care to watch/listen to them. Sometimes you have to sit through an ad, sometimes you have to click through to YouTube.

day 01 – your favorite song
Too many, but here’s one. Album version is longer, and a slightly different mix.
Lush, “Nothing Natural”

day 02 – your least favorite song
Too many, but here’s one. Around the time this song was popular, I was seeing this guy who knew I loved Underworld. One time, when he picked me up to go out, this shit was playing in his car. Nowadays I’d probably appreciate his effort. Instead, back then, I felt embarrassed for him. I mean, look at this d-bag! Give me David Guetta any day.
Darude, “Sandstorm”

day 03 – a song that makes you happy
What an incredible video! I love how Pete Salisbury looks like he’s about to puke.
The Verve, “Blue”

day 04 – a song that makes you sad
My younger sister and I were visiting our dad in Tampa. While shopping a record store at Hyde Park, my sis and I agreed to go in together and buy In Utero. When my stepmother picked us up, we showed her our joint purchase. She thought “Rape Me” was a crass title and subject. I explained to her that the song isn’t actually about rape or raping women or wanting to be raped (me, a teenager, explaining this to an adult). When we got home, we learned that Kurt Cobain was dead.
Nirvana, “Rape Me”

day 05 – a song that reminds you of someone
This song reminds me of someone.
Doves, “Spellbound”

day 06 – a song that reminds you of somewhere
Reminds me of when I worked at Old Navy during the late ’90s. That is where I got my real club/electronic music education, no joke. The video looks like Bel Biv Devoe’s treatment for “Poison” in spots.
Armand van Helden, “You Don’t Know Me”

day 07 – a song that reminds you of a certain event
9/11, yup. I went to NYC for the first time a month earlier and found a Russian-pressed 12″ of Rubber Soul at Bleecker Bob’s. Some unknown fucktwat stole that record from me a few years later. But it was on the player on 9/11.
The Beatles, “Think for Yourself”
spotify:track:64bKVrkaXQAKx04dLHqCNz

day 08 – a song that you know all the words to
Shut it.
Guns n’ Roses, “Pretty Tied Up”

day 09 – a song that you can dance to
“Can dance”, like, I can ably follow the choreography? Or just any-old song that makes me want to dance? Semantics, people!
Depeche Mode, “Halo”

day 10 – a song that makes you fall asleep
Fall asleep, in a good way.
Orbital, “Halcyon + On + On”

day 11 – a song from your favorite band
One of my favorite bands that hasn’t been mentioned elsewhere yet.
Leftfield, “Afro-Left”

day 12 – a song from a band you hate
Despite many honest attempts to listen to this album, I do not like this band. Never will. k thx bye!
MGMT, “Time to Pretend”

day 13 – a song that is a guilty pleasure
I’m a sucker for freestyle. Plus, there is an unheard-of-nowadays 18-second-long shot in this video. Say whaaaat!
Lisette Melendez, “Forever Yours”

day 14 – a song that no one would expect you to love
“Tribal metal.” Heh.
Sepultura, “Roots Bloody Roots”

day 15 – a song that describes you
Underworld, “Confusion the Waitress”

day 16 – a song that you used to love but now hate
Jane’s Addiction, “Been Caught Stealing”

day 17 – a song that you hear often on the radio
This is played like it never went out of style. Jesus. Shirley Manson looks like Toni Halliday in Curve’s “Fait Accompli” video. HMMMMM. Sidenote: is the dancer lady in “Fait Accompli” the same one (as a younger lady) in Siouxsie & the Creatures’ “Standing There” video?

day 18 – a song that you wish you heard on the radio
What a great pop band. They were played on WRAS, but I don’t think that’s the kind of radio this question means.
Versus, “Glitter of Love”

day 19 – a song from your favorite album
Catherine Wheel, “For Dreaming”

day 20 – a song that you listen to when you’re angry
Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, “Awake”

day 21 – a song that you listen to when you’re happy
Super Furry Animals, “Hit and Run”

day 22 – a song that you listen to when you’re sad
A song I wish was longer.
Flying Saucer Attack, “Standing Stone”

day 23 – a song that you want to play at your wedding
Jesus & Mary Chain, “The Hardest Walk”

HAHA! Just kidding! Saw a way to throw it in because I prefer this version to what’s on Psychocandy. My husband would kick my ass. It’d really be this song:

Flaming Lips, “Race for the Prize”

day 24 – a song that you want to play at your funeral
Led Zeppelin, “Achilles’ Last Stand”

day 25 – a song that makes you laugh
Supergrass, “Caught by the Fuzz”

day 26 – a song that you can play on an instrument
OK, I’ve never played it on the piano; classical is all I know. But this song sounds easy enough. That must mean Tim Friese-Greene and I are on the same level. By the way I think those are TFG’s hands in the video. You can’t fool me with your spasticness, Mark Hollis!
Talk Talk, “Life’s What You Make It”

day 27 – a song that you wish you could play
Or vocally handle, rather.
Cocteau Twins, “Millimillenary”

day 28 – a song that makes you feel guilty
Not sure I understand this question. I feel guilty that I own the album. I feel guilty that I hate the album. I feel guilty that this song has Bobbi Brown singing on it. I feel guilty that Duff McKagan was a sweaty, bloated, drunken, incoherent mess around the time of that album. Or am I confusing guilt with embarrassment? I still believe in you, Duff.
Duff McKagan, “Believe in Me”

day 29 – a song from your childhood
I’m a sucker for early ’90s pop/dance/R&B… and anything described as a “sinuous mid-tempo sizzler.”
Tara Kemp, “Piece of My Heart”

day 30 – your favorite song at this time last year
Not a happy camper at this time last year.
Curve, “Arms Out”

Leave a Reply

