Skip to content
January 19, 2010 / Brittany Hendrick

Found: the perfect reds

Finally, the quest to find in-salon red hair dyes that match my DIY vision has ended.

Last August, I had my hair dyed professionally for only the second time in my life. This particular salon used Aveda dye. I always used L’Oreal professional dye on myself, with great results. But I thought I’d give Aveda colors a shot.

I’d showed the colorist a picture of exactly what I wanted (last picture in this entry). She did a good job, and came really close to replicating the colors. She even did a cool thing with the front highlights, by having some hidden so you could only see them if my hair were flipped opposite its normal part. Nice surprise.

A few weeks after the Aveda job. Cool.

To maintain the color I broke out some Goldwell ColorGlow Stay Red shampoo and conditioner I’d been sitting on for a while but hadn’t the opportunity to use. WOW! Talk about a color care system that is bold and actually does its job of preventing too-fast fading! The red– especially the conditioner– looks frightening in a murderous way. This brand thoroughly impressed me (the products aren’t sulfate-free, which is a big negative). I wanted to know more about it.

Turns out, Goldwell also manufactures professional dyes sold to salons. Online, I found some examples of hair dyed with Goldwell reds. Really neat stuff– in all sorts of colors. Next dyejob, Goldwell.

On top of that, I found a Goldwell color chart, which was necessary for me. When it came to self-dyeing, the way I’d choose colors meant staring at swatches and imagining what they’d look like with a bit of this-or-that added to them. It’s a rather enjoyable process, actually.

It’s definitely time for a touch-up. I’d been floundering on what to do: let my hair grow out to its natural color again, return to self-dyeing, or have a professional do it. For the Hell of it, I researched local salons that use Goldwell products, and that showcase examples of their work. One salon had a link to Flickr, and ooohhhhh my Gaaahhhd, this is it!

This nails it. This best demonstrates the three colors I’d concocted for myself a couple years ago. The best part is, somebody at the salon did this work in the above picture. So, the color combos are on file, there won’t be any confusion on what’s required, no frustration in trying to explain the goal. All I have to say is, “That picture. That colorist.” This is going to be a good one…

8/8/2011 update: I notice this post has been getting a lot of hits lately. So I must give credit to Salon Greco in Suwanee, Ga., for the dye job that I finally got with the colors shown in the photo directly above. The owner, Kathy, did my cut and color, and she did an outstanding job.

8/29/11 update: Still a popular post, I see… may as well share the results. This was the second dye-job with Goldwell colors, which slightly varied from the first.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Design and Polish Blog / Aug 16 2013 8:47 am

    Do you still use goldwell colours? I’m looking at getting my hair dyed with their colours.

    Like

    • Brittany Hendrick / Aug 16 2013 4:51 pm

      Recently, I had a friend, a professional stylist, dye my hair and she uses Schwartzkopf. The colors turned out cool, except the “strawberry blonde” — we had to dye over it. Still, I prefer Goldwell’s range, intensity and verity of color. My friend probably uses Schwartzkopf because she was trained with those colors, but I’m going to see if she’ll use Goldwell instead, next time. I highly recommend Goldwell, though.

      Like

      • Design and Polish Blog / Aug 16 2013 5:15 pm

        Thanks! I have no friends who use goldwell, I adore their range. I’ve only have loreal and schwartzkopf and I didn’t like either. Now to book an appointment! Thanks again for you insight.

        Like

        • Brittany Hendrick / Aug 16 2013 6:11 pm

          You’re welcome! What are you planning on doing? Reds? Let me know how it turns out!

          Like

Leave a Reply

