Skip to content
May 6, 2009 / Brittany Hendrick

WTF?!!1! Item of the Year, right here. And it’s only May.

How long has this swine flu scare going on?  A week?  So, how come it wasn’t until yesterday– just YESTERDAY– that my mom, suddenly overcome with bemusement, finally decided to reach inside the catacombs of her colon and pull out this bit of information for my sister and me:

Our father had been inoculated with swine flu.

Uhhmm, I thought there wasn’t a vaccine for this.  Hence the problems and panic we see now.  Otherwise, what’s the big deal about swine flu, right?

“He got sick from it– had to go to the hospital and everything!”  Mom chuckled.

She said it was in the 1970s, and that Dad’s workplace made him get vaccinated.  OK, what exactly was he doing, where was he working to be in a position in which you’re required to get a vaccine?  Could it have been… the GOVERNMENT?!

Mom insisted Dad was an underwriter at that time.

Naturally, this leads me to do what I normally do– I investigate.

Yes, it’s true: there was a swine flu outbreak in 1976.  I wonder why the news hasn’t mentioned it?  Maybe because the vaccination process was a huge debacle and is in the United States’ “Let’s Not ‘Go There'” file.

I found an article on a 1984 court case, in which the government was being sued for deeming the swine flu vaccine safe yet not disclosing the side effects (“death” being one).  However, the real contention was that the vaccine caused Guillain-Barre Syndrome in some recipients.  Interesting!  Even though my dad does not have GBS, he does endure other autoimmune issues (temporal arteritis; polymyalgia).  Could the swine flu vaccine have caused this mysterious onset?

According to Wikipedia (questionable source, I know, but I can’t see anyone making up this information), 15 people were hospitalized after swine flu vaccination.  My dad was one of those [reported] 15… weird.  The vaccinations were cut off in December 1976.

“Well, I guess your father won’t have to worry about getting swine flu!”  my mom quipped.

Leave a Reply

